top of page
  • Writer's pictureFebruary

Things are looking up

Sorry I skipped yesterday. It is exhausting keeping up with all Jody's needs, running errands, and keeping up with everything at home. After I get him cleaned up in the morning and feeling a little better I run out to take care of whatever needs to be done (grab me some lunch or do laundry). While I am gone Jody will rest and when I get back we try to sit and play a game or walk around the floor. We have to walk to keep his gut moving and get discharged from here to the hotel.


Yesterday was our first great day and the night before was a really good night. He slept for a few hours that night and spent the day doing pt and resting. Yesterday afternoon the path report was still not back but, Jody had great news. We got a phone call flater in the day from Chris Doleman, NFL Hall of Famer. He called Jody and talked for a minute. I took a little video and photos. I think that Jody was almost in tears. Next thing I know Jody is telling me that Chris Doleman is driving to the hospital to see him the next day.


Today as we were leaving the room for pt Chris Doleman was coming in. I have not seen Jody so happy in so long. This truly was unbelievable for him. Not only did Chris Doleman show up but, he brought autographed photos of himself sacking Jody's favorite quarterback, Warren Moon. It really was an unbelievable sight to see the way Jody was beaming.


Shortly after that visit our pt gal came in the room and had a Houston Texan player on face time to talk to Jody and autographed cards on his way. This truly was a great day for my husband.


The Dr. came in with the path report. All lymph nodes came back clean. There was residual cancer deeper in the wall of the esophagus but, they said the margins were clear. We are thankful for this report and praising the Lord for this. We do not yet know if there will be more treatment that is needed but, should know that next week when we meet with the oncologist.


If all goes as planned we should still be home mid next week.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3/15/21

I know so many of you know a little of what has happened recently and have been waiting for this post. I was not able to bring myself to actually type what was happening at the time. We have many more

2/18/21

We went to New York last week for chemo and as usual the chemo part went smooth. I know I have said I did not know how the office could function. At times it feels so disorganized but, the girls up fr

bottom of page