top of page
  • Writer's pictureFebruary

1 - Back to December With a Statesboro Dr.

I'm not really sure where to begin or even how to do this but, we are hoping this will be an easier way to keep people updated on Jody's cancer (I hate that word). I guess I am going to start at the beginning of this mess.


As many of you know back in December Jody had his regularly scheduled endoscopy to check the Barretts esophagus that has had since his teen years. We saw a new Dr. in the Statesboro area since this was the first scope since the move to Statesboro. After the scope the Dr. came out and told me all looked good and he did not think we had anything to worry about. We did however have a follow up scheduled. Of course his appointment was set during the one week in ten years that it snows in South Georgia and they close the office. Life got busy and we did not go back in until February when Jody made an appointment for another issue that he was dealing with. When he got there the Dr. told him he was not concerned about the other issue but, that Jody possibly could have cancer but, he (the Dr.) did not think so. He felt the proper course of action was an ablation every two months about six times. This happens to be the one appointment in nine years that I missed. Jody could not really tell me exactly what was said except the Dr. said" you could have cancer but, I don't think you do." and I am 100% sure that I have got this". That was my first red flag. No Dr. can be 100% sure. I called the office and spoke with his nurse. When I asked them to read the pathology report it said "high grade dysplasia, cannot rule out intramucosal carcinoma". I knew at that moment we were going for a second opinion. That's when I called Cancer Treatment Centers of America (CTCA).




26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3/15/21

I know so many of you know a little of what has happened recently and have been waiting for this post. I was not able to bring myself to actually type what was happening at the time. We have many more

2/18/21

We went to New York last week for chemo and as usual the chemo part went smooth. I know I have said I did not know how the office could function. At times it feels so disorganized but, the girls up fr

bottom of page