top of page
  • Writer's pictureFebruary

7 - Preparing

The days leading up to the surgery have been stress filled for us. I had been trying to get the store prepared for me to be gone for two weeks and Allison to run it. I have not had any time to really clean our house and tis was extremely stressful for me. My mom called almost every day to check on us. As much as she wanted to come up and help me get my house cleaned and the store ready so I could focus on everything else we had to d she could not with having a knee replacement the middle of April.


I was hoping to be able to spend Sundays cooking and having meals prepared for the kids while I was gone and for us when we returned. Needless to say that did not happen. I did receive a text from an amazing person. For the first time I was crying not from how scared I was of what was happening to my husband but, how kind and generous this gal was. I knew this gal through another person. We have never really hung out and had limited contact. She gave us Whitney (Jody's Aussie, that drives me nuts). She texted and asked me what the kids liked to eat. She had no idea that this was something I had been stressing over but, when she asked to help she took it a step beyond just a casual offer and really wanted to help anyway she could. I was crying. This was the first person that had done this and it really touched me.


My mom also called the week before we left to tell me she was hiring a housekeeper to come and clean the house really good for me so I can deal with the store. That really was a huge weight lifted off me.


By Wednesday morning we were as ready as we were going to get. By no means were we prepared for the crazy amount of stuff the store was selling. We will probably run out of stuff while I am gone but, I did what I could every night till one or two in the morning. We had a few people in place to help the kids while we were going to be gone.


Ready or Not... It was time to go.



18 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3/15/21

I know so many of you know a little of what has happened recently and have been waiting for this post. I was not able to bring myself to actually type what was happening at the time. We have many more

2/18/21

We went to New York last week for chemo and as usual the chemo part went smooth. I know I have said I did not know how the office could function. At times it feels so disorganized but, the girls up fr

bottom of page