top of page
  • Writer's pictureFebruary

March 5. 2020

Last Thursday the 27th Jody tried to go to work. I drove him like I do most days and sat in the back of the classroom just in case something happened. He seemed to be having a decent morning for a person just out of the hospital. He took his nap on planning and when he woke up he could barely walk. He couldn't lift his legs. He was sort of doing a mini shuffle and in excruciating pain through his whole body. I got him home, gave him something for pain, and put him to bed. His body was very swollen with fluids. He didn'tt seem to be any better the next day.

Friday I took him to the local er to make sure his potassium was not off. They had a hard time keeping that up when he was in the hospital. Labs were a little low but, nothing totally abnormal. We called his oncologist from the hospital and they said basically he had so much fluid from all the fluids they pumped into him and he had not been out of bed much that when he was up on Thursday the fluid started moving around. It was so much it was causing a lot of nerve pain.

I got him home and we spent the whole weekend doing nothing at home. I propped his feet up, pushed more fluids to flush all of it out, and made him do laps every hour around the living room.

We went back to school on Monday. Each day this week has been an improvement. He looks good and is starting to feel pretty good. He still gets tired easy and is weak. He takes a nap everyday on planning and when we get home from school. But, he is doing great compared to two weeks ago. It looks like he will be able to start the new chemo on the 13th.

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

3/15/21

I know so many of you know a little of what has happened recently and have been waiting for this post. I was not able to bring myself to actually type what was happening at the time. We have many more

2/18/21

We went to New York last week for chemo and as usual the chemo part went smooth. I know I have said I did not know how the office could function. At times it feels so disorganized but, the girls up fr

bottom of page